FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
September 3, 2020
Media/Press Contact:
Apyphanie Dawn
Asst. National Strategy Director
(202) 656-5148

NTVM Contact:
Dani Farrell
National Strategy Director
(202) 557-9341

 

National Trans Visibility March to Host Virtual Event from September 28th until October 3rd

WASHINGTON, D.C., September 2020 — The National Trans Visibility March will host a week long virtual event in lieu of an in person March. “With COVID-19 causing a stronger enforcement of social distancing, a virtual march is the safest alternative to continue the mission of fighting for trans equality and encouraging the community to vote while pushing for spaces of vocal and social freedom among young leaders. Our goal is to cultivate spaces that lend themselves to the people with the voices seldom heard and often needed. during this year’s presidential elections,” says this year’s National Strategy Director, Dani Farrell, who is also the Founder and CEO of Trans In Color and TBuddy.

The virtual event will begin on September 28, 2020 with discussions led by NTVM’s presenting partner, TD Bank, and other partners and influential members of the TGNC community. On October 1st, this year’s NTVM Director of External Affairs, Hope Giselle and Tatiana Williams will host Marching For Change, a panel discussion that begins at 4PM PT/7PM ET. This will be a comprehensive virtual resource session to discuss best practices for organizing, protesting and creating actions that not only move people to vote and be heard, but to get up and do something with personal touch.

The 2020 NTVM Torch Awards will take place on October 2nd at 4PM PT/7PM ET at the National LGBT Chamber of Commerce in DC and will stream live for all to take part virtually.

On October 3rd, the virtual march will kick off with the NTVM Empowerment Service and will be followed by the NTVM Rally & Virtual March. The NTVM Empowerment Service entitled “A Healing Change for The Trans and Non-Binary Community” will be hosted by NTVM in partnership with UCC DC and begins at 9:00AM PT/12:00PM ET. At 10:00AM PT/1:00PM ET, Ashlee Marie Preston, Founder of YouAreEssential.org and Alphonso David, HRC President, will host the Virtual Rally and will be joined by various Rally Speakers. In addition to the virtual programming, NTVM has joined with Capital Pride DC to bring the NTVM Pride Mobile.

The NTVM Pride Mobile will have a live feed and will leave the NGLCC at 10:50AM PT/1:50PM ET and make stops at the White House, U.S. Capitol, Supreme Court, and all eight wards of DC to bring the March to the community. There will be virtual watch parties from all across the country that will be checking in and broadcasting live from their locations.

(Be sure to register to be a host of a session via our web today)

Visit www.nationaltransmarch.com/registration to register and stay up to date with all that is happening during the 2020 National Trans Visibility March!

The National Trans Visibility March (NTVM) is an organization advocating for the visibility, equality and protection of all Transgender, Gender Nonconforming and Non-Binary (TGNCNB) people across the United States. Founded in 2019 by Marissa Miller, NTVM mobilized thousands who marched the streets of Washington D.C. to reaffirm that Trans rights are human rights and call for the abolition of anti-LGBTQ+ laws.

For more information, please visit www.NationalTransMarch.com or Facebook @TransMarchonDC